Op 11 September 2019 het ek met Marie Hudson op RSG gesels oor palliatiewe sorg. Ek beantwoord vrae soos: Wat is palliatiewe sorg? Watse simptome word aangespreek? Wie het dit nodig?
Doctors working in the field of palliative care in South Africa formed a new association in 2018. They are involved, amongst other things, in negotiating better benefits and quality services for patients.
Earlier this year I had the opportunity to discuss palliative care with Sonia Booth on Cliff Central. It formed part of a series of podcasts on the cancer journey, supported by Discovery. We discussed what palliative care means, what is specifically provided and by whom.
By Paul Kalanithi For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? Buy the book online here.

Being Mortal

By Atul Gawande For most of human history, death was a common, ever-present possibility. It didn’t matter whether you were five or fifty – every day was a roll of the dice. But now, as medical advances push the boundaries of survival further each year, we have become increasingly detached from the reality of being
Stock of books and a cup of tea on a window sill at home
By Atul Gawande People have concerns besides simply prolonging their lives. Surveys of patients with terminal illness find that their top priorities include, in addition to avoiding suffering, being with family, having the touch of others, being mentally aware, and not becoming a burden to others. Our system of technological medical care has utterly failed